Google now lets you auto-delete your app activity, location and web history

0
10

It’s no secret that unless you opt out, Google keeps a very detailed record of your location history and a log of the web sites you visit in Chrome and apps you use. There have always been ways to fully opt out of this or to painstakingly delete these records manually. Yet while there are plenty of reasons to opt out, you also miss out on many of Google’s personalization features. As a middle ground, Google today announced that you can now auto-delete your location history and web and app activity by setting a time limit for how long Google can save this data.

Google will give you two options for this time limit: 3 or 18 months. Any data that is older than that will be automatically deleted. With this, you will still get recommendations, but the extent of your personal data that’s stored on Google’s servers and can be used by the company will be limited. The recommendations, too, will only be based on the limited recent data you still share, so they won’t be as precise as before, but should still be useful.

For now, this feature is launching for location history, as well as web